Home > Uncategorized > So, Where’s the Link?

So, Where’s the Link?

I recently attended a funeral at a “Christian Holiness Church” in Lewis County, KY. This church, where most of my wife’s family attended at some point, is affiliated with the Kentucky Christian Conference. Their website claims linkage to Barton Stone and the vestiges of the Springfield Presbytery. This has become a point of interest with me and my nephew, who is a pastor in the Methodist church (smirk). I know there was some contact between the “Republican Methodists” and Stone’s “Christian Church” group. Many of the churches still claim the name “Christian Church”. But, the historic and doctrinal link evades me.

So, all you RM history experts out there….its time to shine! Help me to understand the linkage to our stream and the holiness churches. Why? Maybe I just want to be interesting at family gatherings.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment